Terms of Offices

Office	Term Begins	Code Cite	Term Length
President/Vice President	January 20, noon	U.S. Constitution, Amendment 20	4 years
United States Senator	January 3, noon (always)	U.S. Constitution, Amendment 20	6 years
United States Representative	January 3, noon (always)	U.S. Constitution, Amendment 20	2 years
Governor/Lt. Governor	First Tuesday after second Monday of January	Iowa Constitution, Article IV, § 15, Amendment 42 (1988)	4 years
Secretary of State, Auditor of State, Treasurer of State	January 1 (always)	Iowa Constitution, Article IV, § 22, Amendment 32 (1972)	4 years
Secretary of Agriculture, Attorney General	First day of January that is not a Sunday or legal holiday	Iowa Code § 39.8	4 years
State Senator	First day of January that is not a Sunday or legal holiday	Iowa Code § 39.8	4 years
State Representative	January 1 (always)	Iowa Constitution, Article III, § 3	2 years
Judges	January 1 (always)	Iowa Constitution, Article V, § 17	6 years Iowa Supreme Court: 8 years
County Officers	First day of January that is not a Sunday or legal holiday	Iowa Code § 39.8	4 years
City Officers	First day of January that is not a Sunday or legal holiday, noon	lowa Code § 376.2	2 or 4 years
Township Offices	First day of January that is not a Sunday or legal holiday	Iowa Code § 39.8	4 years
Nonpartisan Offices	First day of January that is not a Sunday or legal holiday	lowa Code § 39.8, 161A.6, 176A.7, 347A.1	4 years Hospital Trustees: 6 years