## State Election Administrators Training

SEAT Program
c/o Secretary of State's Office
321 E. 12<sup>th</sup> Street • Des Moines, IA, 50319
Ph: (515) 281-5875 • Fax: (515) 281-4682
www.sos.state.ia.us/elections/auditors/seat/index.html

The State Election Administrators Training Board of Directors met at the Prairie Meadows Events & Conference Center on Wednesday January 23, 2013 at 12:15 pm. The SEAT Board members participating were: Sarah Reisetter (Secretary of State's Office), Mary Mosiman (Secretary of State's Office), Lois Huitink (Sioux County), Scott Reneker (Jefferson County), Harlan Hansen (Humboldt County) and Carla K. Becker (Delaware County). Also present were Eric Van Lancker (ISACA Vice-President & 2012 ISACA Treasurer), Ann Clary (Secretary of State's Office), Marisa Roseberry (Secretary of State's Office) and Sandy Hysell (2013 ISACA Treasurer). Gloria Carr (Floyd County) was absent.

Chairperson Huitink opened the meeting.

**Motion made** by Harlan Hansen and seconded by Sarah Reisetter to approve the agenda as submitted. All ayes, motion carried.

**Motion made** by Mary Mosiman and seconded by Scott Reneker to approve the minutes from the November 29, 2012 Board of Director's meeting. All ayes, motion carried.

Former ISACA Treasurer Eric VanLancker presented the HAVA and ISACA/SEAT Fund Financial Reports. The reports run from July 1, 2012 through December 31, 2012. Summary of expenses from these funds is as follows:

Expenses	SOS/HAVA	SEAT/ISACA	TOTAL
General Program	7.00		07.00
Core Course			0
<b>Continuing Education</b>	3,972.52	<u>7,473.95</u>	11,403.53
Total by Fund	3,972.52	7,473.95	11,410.53

Account balances in said funds as of December 31, 2012 were \$85,674.06 in the SOS/HAVA account and \$42,519.41 in the SEAT/ISACA account. According to former Treasurer Van Lancker 97 counties have paid their 2012 dues with only Greene and Marshall Counties left outstanding. The SEAT dues notice is usually sent out in May with a due date of September.

**Motion made** by Sarah Reisetter and seconded by Scott Reneker to approve the Treasurer's Report as presented. All ayes, motion carried.

An update was given to the Board regarding recertification. SEAT graduates from 2008 are currently up for recertification. With sixty-one (61) total, only twenty-four (24) have recertified. Eighteen of the 61 did not even apply for recertification. However, two (2) of these have signed up for CORE I. The class of 2009 was only thirteen (13), however the 2010 class was one hundred seventy-five (175).

CORE I registration is currently open. With sixty (60) available seats, as of 9:00 am this morning there were already thirty-nine (39) registered. There are five (5) new auditors who have not registered yet. Someone may want to encourage them to get registered as soon as possible if they intend to go.

In regards to tracking of continuing education credits, there is no change from last meeting. .

The next item on the agenda was the election of officers for 2013.

Chairperson Huitink opened the floor for nominations for the position of Chairperson.

**Motion made** by Scott Reneker and seconded by Harlan Hansen to nominate Lois Huitink to continue as Chairperson for 2013. All ayes, motion carried.

Chairperson Huitink stated that she would accept the nomination if the Board would also appointed a Co-Chairperson to serve as well.

**Motion made** by Scott Reneker and seconded by Mary Mosiman to nominate Carla Becker as the 2013 Co-Chairperson/Secretary. All ayes, motion carried.

The date and time of the next meeting was left up to Chairperson Huitink to call. It was thought a meeting should be held in March; perhaps in conjunction with ISAC Spring School in Des Moines.

There being no further business before the Board, Chairperson Huitink adjourned the meeting at 12:50 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Carla K. Becker SEAT Board Secretary