

SEAT Board Minutes

The State Election Administrators Training Board of Directors met at the Iowa Secretary of State's Conference Room in Des Moines on Tuesday, December 7, 2010. The SEAT Board members participating were: Sarah Reisetter (Secretary of State's Office), Marge Pitts (Clay County), Tom O'Neill (Dubuque County by telephone), Jamie Fitzgerald (Polk County), Peggy Rice (Humboldt County) and Diana Dawley (Poweshiek County). Also present was: Ann Clary (Secretary of State's Office). Absent: Mike King (Union County).

The meeting was called to order by Marge Pitts, Chairman of the SEAT Board at 2:00 p.m.

It was moved by Peggy Rice and seconded by Jamie Fitzgerald to approve the amended agenda as presented. All ayes. Motion carried.

Moved by Jamie Fitzgerald and seconded by Diana Dawley to approve the minutes of the August 25, 2010 meeting as presented. All ayes. Motion carried.

The HAVA and ISACA SEAT Fund Financial Reports were reviewed. Moved by Sarah Reisetter and seconded by Tom O'Neill to approve the financial reports as presented. All ayes. Motion carried.

The Board discussed the recertification process for SEAT applicants. Moved by Jamie Fitzgerald and seconded by Diana Dawley to approve having a committee of Ken Kline, Sara Reisetter and Jamie Fitzgerald prepare a draft policy for recertification, application and notification for SEAT graduates which would include grandfathering everyone who graduated prior to January 1, 2007, using 1 hour of education credit (such as SEAT Core courses, CERA, MEOC, ACREOT and Election Center classes) for 1 hour of training. All ayes. Motion carried.

The Board discussed dates and locations for the FY 2011 SEAT Core Courses. It was moved by Jamie Fitzgerald and seconded by Diana Dawley to set the following schedule:

Core 1 – April 25 – 29, 2011 at the Hilton Garden Inn in Johnston

Core 2 – July 11-15, 2011 at the Hilton Garden Inn in Johnston All ayes. Motion carried.

The Board discussed the dates and locations for the FY2011 SEAT Continuing Education Courses. It was moved by Jamie Fitzgerald and seconded by Tom O'Neill to set the following schedule:

June 9, 2011 – Kirkwood Center of Continuing Education, Cedar Rapids
June 15, 2011 – Boulders Conference Center, Denison
August 10, 2011 – Boulders Conference Center, Denison
August 16, 2011 – Kirkwood Center for Continuing Education, Cedar Rapids
All ayes. Motion carried.

Chairman Pitts reminded the Board that there will need to be several appointments to the SEAT Board by January 31, 2011. ISACA will need to appoint 2 people and ISAC will need to appoint 2 people.

Motion by Diana Dawley and seconded by Jamie Fitzgerald to set SEAT Dues for FY2011 at \$100.00. All ayes. Motion carried.

Motion by Diana Dawley and seconded by Sarah Reisetter to set the registration fee for SEAT core courses at \$100.00 for 3 days of training and for the SEAT Continuing Education courses \$35.00 for a 1 day course. All voting aye. Motion carried.

Ken Kline with the curriculum committee stated that there will be some changes to the curriculum committee next year. He has heard from Kyle Jensen that she is resigning, Joni Ernst may possibly resign, Jack Beeson will no longer be on the Committee and Vicky Ritz is retiring. This leaves Ken Kline, Dawn Williams, Sara Reisetter, Marisa Roseberry, Pat Gill, Jake Grandia and John Chido on the Curriculum Committee. The SEAT Board discussed leaving the Curriculum Committee as it is, no formal action was taken.

Moved by Diana Dawley and seconded by Sarah Reisettter to authorize the Chairman to sign the HAVA Official Training Grant Agreement. All voting aye. Motion carried.

Board members Sarah Reisetter and Diana Dawley left the meeting at this point. 3:17 p.m.

The SEAT Board directed that there be a recertification certificate sent to all 2003-2006 SEAT graduates by December 31, 2010 showing an expiration for their training credits of December 31, 2014.

There being no further business to come before the Board, there was a motion by Peggy Rice and seconded by Tom O'Neill to adjourn at 3:39 p.m. All ayes. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Peggy J. Rice, SEAT Board Secretary