State Election Administrators Training

SEAT Program
c/o Secretary of State's Office
321 E. 12th Street • Des Moines, IA, 50319
Ph: (515) 281-5875 • Fax: (515) 281-4682
www.sos.state.ia.us/elections/auditors/seat/index.html

The State Election Administrators Training Board of Directors met at the Iowa State Association of Counties Conference Room in Des Moines on Wednesday February 16, 2011. The SEAT Board members participating were: Sarah Reisetter (Secretary of State's Office), Marge Pitts (Clay County), Tom O'Neill (Dubuque County), Jamie Fitzgerald (Polk County), Harlan Hansen (Humboldt County) and Lois Huitink (Sioux County). Also present was: Ann Clary (Secretary of State's Office). Absent: Carla Becker (Delaware)

The meeting was called to order by Marge Pitts, Chairman of the SEAT Board at 12:37 p.m.

It was moved by Jamie Fitzgerald and seconded by Sarah Reisetter to approve the agenda as presented. All ayes. Motion carried.

Chairperson Pitts welcomed the new members and provided an overview of the history of the SEAT committee and its composition.

Chairperson Pitts discussed the election of officers and their duties. A brief discussion took place about these duties. A slate of Sarah Reisetter, Chair; Marge Pitts, Co-Chair; and Jamie Fitzgerald, Secretary was moved by Tom O'Neill and seconded by Jamie Fitzgerald. All ayes. Motion carried.

The minutes from the December 7th meeting were amended and approved. Moved by Sarah Reisetter and seconded by Tom O'Neil. The amended minutes clarified that the second to last paragraph on page one only include those SEAT graduates prior to January 1, 2007. All ayes. Motion carried.

The HAVA and ISACA SEAT Fund Financial Reports were reviewed. There was no change in the HAVA SEAT money, but there was an accrual of interest in the ISACA SEAT funds. The division of expenses that would be paid from each fund was discussed and agreed upon. ISACA SEAT funds would be used for food & beverage at trainings; speaker expenses including meals (not provided during the course), mileage, and accommodations (non-direct billed); graduation plaques; and committee and board member expenses. HAVA SEAT funds would be used for speaker accommodations that were direct billed; meeting and audio-visual equipment rental; materials; postage;

certificates, nametags; and Secretary of State's office staff travel if speaking and / or staffing the trainings. Moved by Sarah Reisetter and seconded by Jamie Fitzgerald to approve the financial reports and division of expenses as presented. All ayes. Motion carried.

The Board discussed the recertification process for SEAT applicants, reviewed and approved the "SEAT Accreditation Renewal Policy" as presented by the committee of Ken Kline, Sarah Reisetter and Jamie Fitzgerald. This document clarifies the need for SEAT graduates to recertify every four years and allows SEAT graduates to take qualifying coursework for this accreditation at non-SEAT sponsored conferences and workshops. All non-SEAT coursework needs to be approved by the SEAT Board, unless it is specified. This document also contained a form that needs to be filled out by the participant if they attend a non-SEAT course. Moved by Tom O'Neill and seconded by Harlan Hansen. All ayes. Motion carried.

The Board discussed dates (including corrections to the previous approved minutes) and locations for the FY 2011 SEAT Continuing Education Courses. The dates are:

June 10, 2011 – Kirkwood Center of Continuing Education, Cedar Rapids
June 15, 2011 – Boulders Conference Center, Denison
August 10, 2011 – Boulders Conference Center, Denison
August 17, 2011 – Kirkwood Center for Continuing Education, Cedar Rapids

Transitioning for three core courses to two core courses was discussed.

Setting regularly scheduled meetings were discussed.

There being no further business to come before the Board, there was a motion by Tom O'Neill and seconded by Jamie Fitzgerald to adjourn at approximately 2:30 p.m. All ayes. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Jamie Fitzgerald SEAT Board Secretary