

The State Election Administrators Training Board of Directors met at the Iowa Secretary of State's Conference Room in Des Moines on Tuesday, May 11, 2010. The SEAT Board members participating were Linda Langenberg (Secretary of State's Office), Marge Pitts (Clay County), Diana Dawley (Poweshiek County), Jamie Fitzgerald (Polk County) and Mike King (Union County Board of Supervisors). Also present were: ISACA Treasurer Carol Robertson (Mills County), Curriculum Committee Chair Ken Kline (Cerro Gordo County) and Ann Clary (Secretary of State's Office). Absent: Tom O'Neill (Dubuque County).

The meeting was called to order by Marge Pitts, Chairman of the SEAT Board at 10:02 a.m.

It was moved by Diana Dawley and seconded by Jamie Fitzgerald to approve the agenda as presented. All ayes. Motion carried.

Moved by Jamie Fitzgerald and seconded by Linda Langenberg to approve the minutes of the December 2, 2009 meeting as presented. All ayes. Motion carried.

The financial reports were reviewed.

Ken Kline and Ann Clary provided feedback on the January 2010 SEAT Core Course 3 and the evaluation results were discussed. By consensus, the Board has directed Ann Clary to furnish each speaker with an electronic copy of the evaluation results for their presentation.

Ken Kline reported that the Curriculum Committee has reviewed the Core Course content and is recommending that:

- the three Core Courses be consolidated into two
- the required hours for certification be reduced to 40
- both courses be held in odd calendar years over two fiscal years
- one continuing education session be held in even numbered calendar years and two be held in odd numbered years

It was moved by Mike King and seconded by Jamie Fitzgerald to accept the recommendations of the Curriculum Committee. All voting aye. Motion carried.

Board member Peggy Rice (Humboldt) arrived at this time, 10:33 a.m.

It was moved by Mike King and seconded by Diana Dawley to reaffirm the appointments of the following people to the SEAT Board, terms to end January 31, 2012:

Marge Pitts, Clay County

Linda Langenberg, Secretary of State's Office

Jamie Fitzgerald, Polk County

Tom O'Neill, Dubuque County

and to reaffirm the appointments of the following people to the SEAT Board, terms to end January 31, 2011:

Diana Dawley, Poweshiek County

Peggy Rice, Humboldt County

Mike King, Union County

All voting aye. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Linda Langenberg and seconded by Diana Dawley to reaffirm the appointments of the following people to the SEAT Curriculum Committee:

Ken Kline, Cerro Gordo County

Kyle Jensson, Black Hawk County

Dawn Williams, Marshall County

Joni Ernst, Montgomery County

Sarah Reisetter, Secretary of State's Office

Jack Beeson, Secretary of State's Office

Marisa Stadlman, Secretary of State's Office

Pat Gill, Woodbury County

Vicki Ritz, Woodbury County

Jake Grandia, Marion County

John Chido, Polk County

All voting aye. Motion carried.

The 2010 SEAT Continuing Education Classes will be held August 4, 2010 in Denison and August 11 in Cedar Rapids. Sign up for classes is currently underway.

The Board discussed the 28E Agreement for Enhanced Statewide Election training which will expire on September 30, 2010 and the HAVA Election Official and Precinct Election Official Training Grant Agreement which expires on June 30, 2011. The consensus of the group was that we need to decide what type of agreement we will need to have for the future, if not a 28E then maybe a Memorandum of Understanding? After much discussion it was moved by Mike King and seconded by Jamie Fitzgerald to appoint Linda Langenberg, Jamie Fitzgerald and Peggy Rice to a sub-committee to look into the changes that need to be made to these two agreements and to report back to the SEAT Board at a later date. All voting aye. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Mike King and seconded by Peggy Rice to have Carol Robertson, ISACA Treasurer work with Ann Clary, Secretary of State's Office to prepare a budget for calendar year 2011 showing expenses and revenues for SEAT. All voting aye. Motion carried.

The next meeting will be set as needed by the Chairman.

There being no further business to come before the Board, there was a motion by Linda Langenberg and seconded by Jamie Fitzgerald to adjourn at 11:14 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Ann Clary, Secretary of State's Office and Peggy J. Rice, SEAT Board Secretary