Iowa Voter Registration Commission

Minutes: August 30th, 2:00 P.M.

The Voter Registration Commission meeting was called to order on Wednesday, August 30th, 2017 at 2:00 P.M., in the SOS Conference Room at the Lucas State Office Building by Deputy Secretary of State and Commission Chairperson Carol Olson. Commissioner Susan Bonham, Commissioner Kevin Geiken and Commissioner Chad Olsen also were present via telephone. Director of Elections Dawn Williams and Election Division staff member Mike Sievers also were present.

1. Call to Order

Called to order by Deputy Secretary of State and Commission Chairperson Olson at 2:16 P.M.

2. Approval of 6-21-2017 minutes

Motioned by Commissioner Geiken, second by Commissioner Chad Olsen to accept the minutes of the meeting on June 21st, 2017. All Ayes.

3. IAC 821 Rules

Director of Elections Dawn Williams provided an overview of rules. Motion to file administrative rules by Commissioner Bonham, second by Commissioner Olsen. All Ayes. Motion passed.

4. Proposed I-Voters Updates

Chairperson Carol Olson provided an overview on the proposed I-Voters updates which include additional security for data exports.

5. Voter Registration Online Form

Election staff member Mike Sievers provided an overview of the design and capabilities of the online order form for voter registration list requests.

6. Voter Registration List Prices

Chairperson Carol Olson explained the increasing number and complexity of voter list requests. Olson went on to explain HF516 authorizes the Iowa Secretary of State can retain a portion of fees in a technology fund for development. Election staff member Mike Sievers provided an overview of voter registration list prices. Chairperson Carol Olson tabled the topic until the meeting in October.

7. Linn County – Data Breach

Chairperson Carol Olson provided an overview of the recent data breach in Linn County. Olson went on to explain the data breach was due to human error and was not a system error.

8. Adjournment

Motion by Commissioner Geiken, second by Commissioner Bonham to adjourn at 2:52 P.M.