Iowa Voter Registration Commission

Minutes: December 14, 2:00 P.M.

The Voter Registration Commission meeting was called to order on Wednesday, December 14, 2016 at 2:00 P.M., in the SOS Conference Room at the Lucas State Office Building by Deputy Secretary of State and Commission Chairperson Carol Olson. Secretary of State Paul Pate, Commissioner Ben Foecke and Commissioner Susan Bonham also were present via telephone. Commissioner Chad Olsen, Director of Elections Dawn Williams, Election Administrator Eric Gookin and Election Division staff member Mike Sievers also were present.

1. Call to Order

Called to order by Deputy Secretary of State and Commission Chairperson Olson at 2:25 P.M.

2. Approval of 7-6-2016 minutes

Motioned by Commissioner Chad Olsen, second by Commissioner Bonham to accept the minutes of the meeting on July 6, 2016. All Ayes.

3. Voter Registration Form – Party Affiliation

Chairperson Carol Olson provided an overview of the Libertarian NPPO and the likelihood of the NPPO filing to become a recognized party by the State of Iowa. Carol Olson continued, explaining the Voter Registration form would need to be updated to reflect the change. Motion by Commissioner Bonham, second by Chairperson Carol Olson to update the Voter Registration Form to include Libertarian as an option for party affiliation pending the Libertarian application to become a recognized party by the State of Iowa.

4. Review of NVRA Agency Form

Director of Elections Dawn Williams described the difficulty counties have noticing the agency voter registration forms and the incorrect recording of voter registration source in I-Voters. Dawn Williams went on to mention that the form had been updated to be more easily distinguished and recorded in I-Voters.

5. County Maintenance Fees and Voter List Fees

Chairperson Carol Olson explained that a meeting be set for the week of the 9th in January to set the County Maintenance Fees and Voter List fees for 2017.

6. IDP Technical Infraction

Chairperson Carol Olson explained a technical infraction was filed against the IDP for withholding 66 voter registration forms for up to two months before bringing them to the Johnson County Auditor just days before the pre-election day period. Carol Olson stated that the situation was referred to the Johnson County Attorney. Commissioner Foecke asked Chairperson Olson or Election Administrator Eric Gookin to elaborate on Iowa Code 48A.5. Chairperson Olson explained the voter registration form may be handled only by the County Auditor, but Mr. McCormally's group attempted to correct the forms themselves. Commissioner Foecke agreed with Chairperson Olson that a party should not take on the

responsibilities of the County Auditor. Commissioner Foecke stated that the IDP did not alter forms, but instead provided new forms for voters to complete if their previous form was incorrectly filled out or missing information. Chairperson Olson read the letter from Mr. McCormally to Auditor Weipert. Secretary of State Paul Pate stated the Johnson County attorney will decide whether to pursue the situation or not. Commissioner Foecke highlighted the need for a timeframe for returning voter registration forms. Chairperson Carol Olson provided a summary of proposed legislation requiring voter registration forms to be returned within 7 days and returned within a day during the 3 days before the pre-registration deadline. Chairperson Carol Olson continued by stating there would be no penalty if voter registration forms were returned past the deadline. Commissioner Chad Olsen stated he was in favor of a timeline, but believed there needed to be a penalty. Secretary Pate cautioned the commission stating that people may throw away voter registration forms not returned past the timeline if there was a penalty. Chairperson Olson, after agreement from the commissioners and Secretary Pate, tabled the discussion until the next meeting in January, but mentioned the Secretary of State will move forward with the bill.

9. Additional Comments

Secretary Pate provided a brief budget summary. Secretary Pate emphasized the need for a plan to be in place by the next meeting for the potential raise in fees.

10. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn at 2:55 P.M. by Carol Olson.