Iowa Voter Registration Commission

Minutes: March 13th, 8:30 a.m.

The Voter Registration Commission meeting was called to order on Wednesday, March 13th, 2019, at 8:33 A.M., in the SOS Conference Room at the Lucas State Office Building by Deputy Secretary of State and Commission Chairperson Christy Wilson. Commissioner Susan Bonham and Commissioner Kevin Geiken attended the meeting in person, Commissioner Charlie Smithson was present via telephone. Linn County Auditor Joel Miller, Linn County Deputy Commissioner of Election Rebecca Stonawski, and Woodbury County Auditor Patrick Gill attended the meeting in person. Elections staff members, Heidi Burhans, Molly Widen, and Heather Livingood were also present.

1. Call to Order

Meeting officially called to order by Commissioner Wilson at 8:33 A.M.

2. Introduction of New Commission Chairperson Christy Wilson

Commissioner Wilson introduced herself to the other members of the Voter Registration Commission.

3. Approval of 1-3-2019 Minutes

Motioned by Commissioner Bonham, second by Commissioner Geiken to approve the minutes of the meeting on January 3rd, 2019. All Ayes. Minutes Approved.

4. Administrative Rules Update

Elections staff member Molly Widen asked the commission to pass the motion to allow the Secretary of State's office to submit administrative rule updates for approval. Administrative rule updates purposed were regarding 17 year old county registration date and petition from rule making within the Voter Registration Commission. Commissioner Geiken pointed out a change from 90 days to 60 days on proposed administrative rule update and Molly stated she would make that change and talk to bill drafter. Voice vote was called for passing of administrative rule updates: Geiken, Aye; Bonham, Aye; Smithson, Aye; Wilson, Aye. Motion carried.

5. Report on the use of Electronic Signatures for Voter Registration

Molly Widen submitted a report to the commission regarding research done on E-Signatures for voter registration. Report included research from other states who have electronic signatures and pointed out that those states do not have EDR. Commissioner Wilson called for a motion to receive the report. Commissioner Smithson motioned, second by Commissioner Geiken.

6. Linn County Petition for Rulemaking

Linn County Auditor Joel Miller and Deputy of Elections Rebecca Stonawski presented their petition for rulemaking. Molly Widen and Commissioner Wilson moved to table the petition until the Office of the Secretary of State could do more research about electronic voter registration signatures and Knowlnk. The petition would be tabled until early next quarter to allow time for the Secretary of State's Office to research. A meeting is to be set up on a Monday in early April of 2019. Commissioner Wilson moved to table the petition until next quarter meeting. Voice vote: Geiken, Aye; Bonham, Aye; Smithson, Aye; Wilson, Aye. All Ayes. Motion passed.

7. Adjournment

Commissioner Geiken motioned to adjourn, second by Commissioner Bonham. Meeting adjourned at 9:01 a.m.