Possible Special Election Dates

Possible Special Election Dates

Special elections to fill vacancies may be held on any Tuesday except for the three Tuesdays before and after the primary and general elections and provided sufficient notice is given to the county auditor.

Cities and counties may hold special elections on the same day as an election to fill a vacancy in the same city or county. (§39.2(4)(a-b)).

46 days notice to the county auditor is required for most special elections. See the authorizing Iowa Code section to determine how much notice is required.(§47.6(3)(a-c))

2015

Date Type of Election Allowed Code Cite
Tues, February 3 Special School Election
Special Community College Election
§ 39.2(4)(c)
Tues, March 3 Special County Election
Special City Election
§ 39.2(4)(a)
§ 39.2(4)(b)
Tues, April 7 Special School Election
Special Community College Election
§ 39.2(4)(c)
Tues, May 5 Special County Election
Special City Election
§ 39.2(4)(a)
§ 39.2(4)(b)
Tues, June 30 Special School Election
Special Community College Election
§ 39.2(4)(c)
Tues, August 4 Special County Election
Special City Election
§ 39.2(4)(a)
§ 39.2(4)(b)
Tues, September 8 Special School Election
Special Community College Election
§ 39.2(4)(c)
Tues, November 3 Special County Election
Special City Election
(Date of Regular City Election)
§ 39.2(4)(a)
§ 39.2(4)(b)

Printable 2015 List

2016

Date Type of Election Allowed Code Cite
Tues, February 2 Special School Election
Special Community College Election
§ 39.2(4)(c)
Tues, March 1 Special County Election
Special City Election
§ 39.2(4)(a)
§ 39.2(4)(b)
Tues, April 5 Special School Election
Special Community College Election
§ 39.2(4)(c)
Tues, May 3 Special County Election
Special City Election
§ 39.2(4)(a)
§ 39.2(4)(b)
Tues, August 2 Special County Election
Special City Election
§ 39.2(4)(a)
§ 39.2(4)(b)
Tues, September 13 Special School Election
Special Community College Election
§ 39.2(4)(c)
Tues, November 8 Special County Election
Special City Election
(Date of General Election)
§ 39.2(4)(a)
§ 39.2(4)(b)
Tues, December 6 Special School Election
Special Community College Election
§ 39.2(4)(c)

Printable 2016 List

Archived Calendars