Students to Participate in Capitol Youth Day 2014
Matt Schultz
Secretary of State
State Capitol
Des Moines, IA 50319
Iowa Secretary of State Seal
Chance McElhaney, (515) 725-2942

Students to Participate in Capitol Youth Day 2014

Des Moines – High schools students from across Iowa will be at the State Capitol for Capitol Youth Day on March 26 and 27. Capitol Youth Day celebrates Democracy Day and provides high school students with a non-partisan overview of the importance of civic participation and the electoral process.

Democracy Day was started in March of 2011 by Rock the Vote to celebrate the 40th Anniversary of the 26th Amendment and a national effort to promote civic education in high schools.

During Capitol Youth Day, students will have the opportunity to meet with members of the state legislature and statewide elected officials; participate in an interactive election activity; tour the Capitol; and participate in a student rally.

"Capitol Youth Day is an extension of our office's push to get more young people to participate in their government and the electoral process. It's really important to get young people to be active participants early on because the students generally continue to participate at a high level in the future," Schultz said. "Capitol Youth Day provides a great opportunity for students from across the state to come to the Capitol, meet with their elected officials and get excited about the electoral process and to participate in their government."

Capitol Youth Day is sponsored by the Iowa Developmental Disabilities Council and the Iowa Secretary of State's Office. The Capitol Youth Day lunch is sponsored by Hy-Vee and Anderson Erickson Dairy.

Students from the following schools will be participating:

Wednesday, March 26, 2014
School Town County
Adair-Casey High School Adair Adair
Panorama High School Panora Guthrie
Mount Vernon High School Mount Vernon Linn
Central Clinton Community Schools DeWitt Clinton
Indianola High School Indianola Warren
Jesup High School Jesup Buchanan
East Buchanan High School Winthrop Buchanan
Melcher-Dallas Community School Melcher Marion
North Polk High School Allenman Polk
Waukee High School Waukee Dallas
Fremont-Mills High School Tabor Fremont
East Sac County High School Lake View Sac
Prairie High School Cedar Rapids Linn
Clear Creek Amana High School Tiffin Johnson
Thursday, March 27, 2014
School Town County
Starmont High School Arlington Fayette
Coon Rapids-Bayard Junior Senior High School Coon Rapids Carroll
Glidden-Ralston Community School Glidden Carroll
AGWSR High School Ackley Hardin
Clarksville Community Schools Clarksville Butler
Greene County High School Jefferson Greene
Le Mars Community High School Le Mars Plymouth
Moravia Community Schools Moravia Appanoose
Thomas Jefferson High School Council Bluffs Pottawattamie
Twin Cedars High School Bussey Marion
Valley Lutheran School Cedar Falls Black Hawk