Biden, Warren leading Dem field in State Fair Straw Poll; Trump at 96% among Republicans
Paul D. Pate
Secretary of State
State Capitol
Des Moines, IA 50319
Iowa Secretary of State Seal WEBSITE:
Kevin Hall
Communications Director
(515) 725-2942
August, 12 2019

MEDIA RELEASE: Biden, Warren leading Dem field in State Fair Straw Poll; Trump at 96% among Republicans

DES MOINES – Democratic presidential candidates Joe Biden and Elizabeth Warren are the early leaders in the Iowa Secretary of State’s State Fair Straw Poll. Biden garnered 19% of the votes for Democrats during the first four days of the State Fair. Warren is close behind with 17%. Pete Buttigieg and Bernie Sanders are third and fourth, with 12% and 11%, respectively.

Among voters casting ballots for their preferred Republican presidential candidate, Donald Trump has picked up 96% of the votes so far. Nearly 1,800 fairgoers voted in the Straw Poll during its first four days. The votes are cast on iPads at the Iowa Secretary of State’s Fair booth, inside the Varied Industries Building.

“The State Fair Straw Poll is a fun way to get Iowans engaged in the process and also provides an interesting snapshot of where the races stand at this point,” Secretary of State Paul Pate said.

Among U.S. Senate candidates, Theresa Greenfield leads the Democratic field with 45% of the vote. Kimberly Graham is second, with 35%.

Secretary Pate is also polling Iowa’s four U.S. House races in the 2020 election. Among those with primary elections, Ashley Hinson leads with Republican field in the First Congressional District, with 68% of the votes. Rita Hart picked up 80% of the votes among Democrats in the Second District. Bobby Schilling and Steve Everly are in a close race among Second District Republicans, with 38% and 37%, respectively.

David Young leads the vote among Republicans in the Third District, with 83% of the votes. Steve King is ahead in the Fourth District for Republicans, with 57%. The poll will continue throughout the Iowa State Fair. Real time results are available on the Iowa Secretary of State’s website, or by clicking here. All results are unscientific and intended for entertainment purposes only.