NOTICEThe Corporate Transparency Act (CTA) reporting requirement is now in effect. This federal requirement is not related to the Iowa Secretary of State. For more information and to file a report if your business needs to do so, visit:

Carrie Chapman Catt Award

2019-2020 Carrie Chapman Catt Award Results

In its inaugural year, 18 Iowa high schools earned the Carrie Chapman Catt Award. 88 Iowa high schools signed up across 54 counties, and a total of 3,834 students registered to vote through the initiative. A picture of the Carrie Chapman Catt Award trophy is available for your use at this link.

"I want to congratulate the 18 schools that stepped up and got at least 90% of their eligible students to register to vote during this school year,” Secretary Pate said. “That is a remarkable achievement and shows true dedication on behalf of principals, teachers, and most importantly, the students." – Iowa Secretary of State Paul D. Pate

Recipients – Schools Finishing in the 90% Tier: Percentage:
Isaac Newton Christian Academy (Cedar Rapids) 100%
Rivermont Collegiate (Rivermont Collegiate) 100%
South Page High School (College Springs) 100%
St. Mary's High School (Storm Lake) 100%
Valley Lutheran School (Cedar Falls) 100%
Lone Tree High School (Lone Tree) 96.67%
West Marshall High School 96%
Pella Christian High School (Pella) 95.83%
Ballard High School (Huxley) 94.03%
Walnut Creek Campus (West Des Moines) 94%
Notre Dame Catholic High School (Burlington) 92.86%
Fort Madison High School (Fort Madison) 92.13%
Norwalk High School (Norwalk) 91.67%
Woodward-Granger High School (Woodward) 91.49%
Newman Catholic High School (Mason City) 91.18%
Baxter High School (Baxter) 90.91%
Nashua-Plainfield High School (Nashua) 90.91%
Prairie High School (Cedar Rapids) 90.31%
Urbandale High School (Urbandale) 90.16%
Schools Finishing in the 70% Tier: Percentage:
Ottumwa High School 84.29%
Charles City High School 84.03%
Central Lyon High School 83.64%
Lynnville-Sully High School 81.48%
Riceville High School 78.26%
Murray Community High School 77.78%
Clear Lake High School 75.90%
East Mills High School 75.00%
Martensdale-St. Marys High School 72.50%
Logan-Magnolia High School 71.67%
Schools Finishing in the 50% Tier: Percentage:
Garner-Hayfield-Ventura High School 67.74%
Cardinal High School 66.15%
Clear Creek-Amana High School 63.08%
Davis County Community High School 59.72%
Tri-Center High School 56.92%
Dike-New Hartford High School 53.73%
Pleasant Valley High School 52.10%
Mid-Prairie High School 51.52%
Dallas Center-Grimes High School 50.00%

Highlighted in green: 54 Iowa counties with at least one (1) high school that signed up and participated in 2019-2020 Carrie Chapman Catt Award.