State Canvassing Board certifies results of Senate District 45 special election
Paul D. Pate
Secretary of State
State Capitol
Des Moines, IA 50319
Iowa Secretary of State Seal WEBSITE:
Kevin Hall
Communications Director
(515) 725-2942
January 03, 2017

State Canvassing Board certifies results of Senate District 45 special election

DES MOINES - The Iowa State Canvassing Board certified the special election results in Senate District 45 on Tuesday. A special election was held on December 27 to fill the vacancy created by the death of State Senator Joe Seng.

Democrat Jim Lykam was the winner, garnering 73.19% of the vote. Republican Michael Gonzales received 25.13% and Libertarian Severin B. Gilbert picked up 1.48%. Turnout for the special election was 11.8%, with 5,199 voters participating.

"I would like to thank those voters who participated in this special election," Secretary of State Paul Pate said. "It is always important to make your voice heard by voting, not just every two years or every four years in the general election."

The State Canvassing Board is comprised of the Executive Council members who met Tuesday to certify the results of the special election. Governor Branstad called the meeting to order and Secretary of State Paul Pate's Office provided the official state canvass results.

Since Jim Lykam is an Iowa House representative, he will need to resign his seat to fulfill the Iowa Senate vacancy. After Lykam's resignation, the Governor's Office has five days to set the date for a special election to fill the vacancy in House District 89.