2012 Primary Election

Primary Election - June 5, 2012

Candidate List

The filing period for state and federal offices is February 27 through March 16. A candidate list will be available on this webpage. It will be updated daily during the candidate filing period.

Contact your county auditor for information on county candidates.

Candidates, please visit the Primary Candidate Information page for information on running for office.


Voter Pre-Registration Deadline

Saturday, May 26 - 5 p.m.


Deadline to Request an Absentee Ballot by Mail

Friday, June 1 - 5 p.m.


Closed Primary

Voters must be registered voters of either the Democratic or Republican Party to participate in the primary election. Voters can change their party affiliation anytime before election day or at their polling place on election day.


Calendar

Date Event
Monday, February 27 Federal and state candidate filing begins
Monday, March 5 County candidate filing begins
Friday, March 16 - 5 p.m. Federal and state candidate filing ends
Wednesday, March 28 - 5 p.m. County candidate filing ends
Monday, May 21 Worry-free postmark deadline for mail-in voter registration forms
Saturday, May 26 - 5 p.m. Voter pre-registration deadline
Auditor's office open from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. for voter registration
Friday, June 1 Deadline to request an absentee ballot by mail
Saturday, June 2 Auditor's office open until 5 p.m. for in-person absentee voting
Tuesday, June 5 Election Day
Polls open 7 a.m. until 9 p.m. statewide
Monday, June 11/Tuesday, June 12 County canvass of votes
Monday, July 2 State canvass of votes must be complete

Offices on Primary Election Ballot

U.S. Offices

  • U.S. Representative (all districts)

State Offices

  • State Senator
    • Even-numbered districts 2-50 and district 49
    • Odd-numbered districts required to appear on the ballot due to redistricting
  • State Representative (districts 1-100)

County Offices

  • Some members of county boards of supervisors
  • County auditor
  • County sheriff
  • Any vacant offices needing to be filled