NOTICEThe Corporate Transparency Act (CTA) reporting requirement is now in effect. This federal requirement is not related to the Iowa Secretary of State. For more information and to file a report if your business needs to do so, visit:

Secretary Pate calls for Statewide High School Voter Registration Day on March 3
Paul D. Pate
Secretary of State
State Capitol
Des Moines, IA 50319
Iowa Secretary of State Seal WEBSITE:
Kevin Hall
Communications Director
(515) 725-2942
February 11, 2020

MEDIA RELEASE: Secretary Pate calls for Statewide High School Voter Registration Day on March 3

DES MOINES – Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate is encouraging Iowa high schools to conduct voter registration drives on Tuesday, March 3. Every school that registers at least 90 percent of its eligible students to vote receives the Carrie Chapman Catt Award, named after the Iowan who was a national leader in the women’s suffrage movement. Nine schools across the state have already qualified for the Catt Award. The deadline for this school year is April 1, 2020.

“Schools are required by state law to conduct voter registration drives, but we want this to be a fun activity and hopefully inspire some competition between the schools,” Secretary Pate said. “We also want young people to understand that registering to vote and participating in elections are the best ways to make sure your voice is heard.”

A new state law allows 17-year-olds to register to vote in Iowa. Students can also participate in the June primary election if they will be 18 years old on or before the November 3 general election. There are approximately 5,000 17-year-olds registered to vote in Iowa.

“As a former social studies teacher, I applaud this effort to connect with students and build the skills they need to become engaged citizens and lifelong voters,” said Ryan Wise, director of the Iowa Department of Education.

Along with March 3 being a significant date in the presidential nominating process in several states, there are dozens of special elections across Iowa that day.

The nine schools that have already qualified for the Carrie Chapman Catt Award this year include:

  • Ballard High School
  • Fort Madison High School
  • Isaac Newton Christian Academy (Cedar Rapids)
  • South Page High School
  • Newman Catholic High School (Mason City)
  • Nashua-Plainfield High School
  • Prairie High School (Cedar Rapids)
  • Rivermont Collegiate (Bettendorf)
  • Walnut Creek Campus (West Des Moines)

Three other schools have registered at least 75 percent of eligible students, and eight schools have registered at least 50 percent. They will also receive statewide recognition.

Partnering with Project High Hopes and the YMCA Youth and Government organization, Secretary Pate’s Office will provide resources to help schools across the state organize and conduct voter registration drives.

Schools interested in being considered for the Carrie Chapman Catt Award should register at or contact Kendall Antle in the Iowa Secretary of State’s Office at

A sound bite from Secretary Pate is available for your use at this link.