OFFICE CLOSURE The Office of the Iowa Secretary of State will be closed Wednesday, November 23 through Friday, November 25, for Thanksgiving; Friday, December 23 and Monday, December 26 for Christmas; and Monday, January 2 for New Year’s.
State Senate District 1 – Special Election

State Senate District 1 – Special Election

Polls are open from 7 A.M. to 8 P.M. Tuesday, December 14.

Candidtate's Guide

Candidate's Guide

Candidate List

Candidate List

Absentee Statistics

Absentee Stats

Voter Pre-Registration Deadline

Monday, November 29, 5 p.m.
Voters may use election day registration procedures to register to vote after the pre-registration deadline.


Deadline to Request an Absentee Ballot by Mail

Monday, November 29


Calendar

Date Event
Friday, November 19, 5 p.m. Candidate filing ends
Monday, November 29 Worry-free postmark deadline for mail-in voter registration forms
Monday, November 29 Voter pre-registration deadline
Auditor's office open until 5 p.m. for voter registration
Voters may use election day registration procedures to register to vote after the pre-registration deadline.
Monday, November 29 Deadline to request an absentee ballot by mail
Saturday, December 11 Auditor's office open 8 hours for in-person absentee voting
Monday, December 13 Last day to vote in-person by absentee ballot at county auditor's office
Tuesday, December 14 Election Day
Polls open 7 a.m. until 8 p.m.