OFFICE CLOSURE The Office of the Iowa Secretary of State will be closed Wednesday, November 23 through Friday, November 25, for Thanksgiving; Friday, December 23 and Monday, December 26 for Christmas; and Monday, January 2 for New Year’s.
Iowa House District 4 Special Election Today
Paul D. Pate
Secretary of State
State Capitol
Des Moines, IA 50319
Iowa Secretary of State Seal WEBSITE:
Carol Olson
Deputy Secretary of State for Elections
(515) 281-8993

Iowa House District 4 Special Election Today

Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate Encourages Voter Turnout

(DES MOINES) Today, January 6, 2015, a special election called by Governor Terry Branstad will take place to fill the seat of the late State Representative Dwayne Alons in Iowa House District 4.

"The elections division staff of this office will be working closely with Sioux County Auditor, Lois Huitink, and are ready to handle the special election today. I applaud the preparation of Auditor Huitink and encourage the residents of Iowa House District 4 to make their voices heard by getting out to vote for the candidate of their choosing," Iowa Secretary of State Paul D. Pate said.

Polls are open today from 7:00 am until 9:00 pm. Absentee ballots must have been postmarked by Monday, January 5th and received by the time of the county canvass on Thursday, January 8th, to be considered on time to be counted. Election night results will be posted on the Secretary of State website as well as the Sioux County Auditor website.

Following a canvassing of the special election results by the state, the winner shall be sworn into office early next week.

The district is in Sioux County and includes the cities of Sioux Center, Orange City, Rock Valley, Hull, Hawarden, Alton, Maurice, Granville, Ireton and Chatsworth. A map of the district is available on the Legislature's website.