NOTICEThe Corporate Transparency Act (CTA) reporting requirement is now in effect. This federal requirement is not related to the Iowa Secretary of State. For more information and to file a report if your business needs to do so, visit:

Secretary of State, Iowa Democratic Party and Republican Party of Iowa Announce Formation of Iowa Youth Caucus
Paul D. Pate
Secretary of State
State Capitol
Des Moines, IA 50319
Iowa Secretary of State Seal WEBSITE:
Kevin Hall
Communications Director
(515) 725-2942
November 5, 2015

Secretary of State, Iowa Democratic Party and Republican Party of Iowa Announce Formation of Iowa Youth Caucus

DES MOINES – Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate, in conjunction with the Iowa Democratic Party and the Republican Party of Iowa, is pleased to announce the formation of the Iowa Youth Caucus. On Thursday, November 19, Iowa middle school and high school students will gather at sites around the state to participate in this event.

They will learn about the presidential candidates, participate in both parties' mock caucuses, and cast their votes for the candidates of their choice. The results will be tabulated by Secretary Pate's Office and posted on the Secretary of State's website,, on November 19. The Iowa Youth Caucus is connected to the "Caucus 101" curriculum developed by Secretary Pate for Iowa high school students.

Democratic and Republican parties in almost two-dozen counties around the state are working in a bipartisan fashion to stage the Iowa Youth Caucus. The effort is an expansion of the High School Mock Caucus conducted by Polk County Democrats and Republicans over the past two years. Their respective executive directors, Tamyra Harrison and Gloria Mazza, played integral roles in organizing this statewide effort.

"We're very excited about giving our young people the opportunity to learn first-hand about how the Iowa Caucuses work," said Secretary of State Paul Pate. "Being first in the nation is a serious responsibility. I think this activity will give them the background they need to become engaged in civics in their community."

"The Iowa Democratic Party is proud to partner with the Iowa Republican Party and the Secretary of State's Office on the statewide Youth Caucus initiative," said Iowa Democratic Party Chair Dr. Andy McGuire. "The Iowa caucuses are one of Iowa's greatest traditions, and through this program we will be able to educate young Iowans about the caucuses and what it means to be first-in-the-nation. We are excited to get more young people involved in the caucus process all over the state of Iowa."

"Secretary Pate's innovative thinking and tireless work ethic have helped introduce a whole new generation of Iowans to our caucuses, an essential part of preserving our first-in-the-nation status. I'm proud to stand here today with both Secretary Pate and Chairwoman McGuire as we unveil the details of our Youth Caucus training. We might be old partisans but you won't find an inch of separation between our two parties when it comes to our first-in-the-nation status," said Republican Party of Iowa Chairman Jeff Kaufmann.

More than 1,200 students have already registered for the Iowa Youth Caucus. Registration is still open for those who want to participate. Go to or the Iowa Youth Caucus page on Facebook to register.

Here is a list of counties participating in the Iowa Youth Caucus. Unless otherwise noted, the event will be held on Thursday, November 19. Times might vary by school, but generally, registration will begin at 4:30 and the Youth Caucus gets underway at 5:30.

County Location
Allamakee Waukon High School
Boone Boone High School
Buchanan Independence High School
Buena Vista Storm Lake High School
Cass Atlantic High School
Clinton Central DeWitt High School
Dallas Adel-Desoto-Minburn High School
Fremont & Page Shenandoah High School
Guthrie Panorama High School
Johnson Coralville Public Library
Jones Kirkwood Community College (Oct. 23)
Keokuk Sigourney High School
Linn Cedar Rapids Washington High School
Marshall Marshalltown Community College
Polk Des Moines Hoover High School
Ringgold Mt. Ayr High School
Scott Scott County Library in Eldridge (Dec. 5)
Story Ames High School
Taylor Bedford Elementary School
Union Creston High School
Warren Indianola High School
Winneshiek Decorah High School