ADVISORY: More than 1,600 Iowa Students Registered to Participate in Statewide Iowa Youth Caucus this Thursday
Paul D. Pate
Secretary of State
State Capitol
Des Moines, IA 50319
Iowa Secretary of State Seal WEBSITE:
Kevin Hall
Communications Director
(515) 725-2942
November 18, 2015

ADVISORY: More than 1,600 Iowa Students Registered to Participate in Statewide Iowa Youth Caucus this Thursday

DES MOINES – This is a reminder that the first bipartisan, statewide Iowa Youth Caucus is taking place this Thursday, November 19 in almost two-dozen counties. The events are a bipartisan effort, done in conjunction with the Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate, the Republican Party of Iowa and the Iowa Democratic Party. More than 1,600 students are registered to participate.

Iowa middle school and high school students will learn about the presidential candidates, participate in both parties' mock caucuses, and cast their votes for the candidates of their choice.

The results will be tabulated by Secretary Pate's Office and posted on the Secretary of State's website, The Iowa Youth Caucus is connected to the "Caucus 101" curriculum developed by Secretary Pate for Iowa high school students.

Secretary Pate will be attending the Polk County Iowa Youth Caucus at Hoover High School, beginning at 4:30. All of the presidential campaigns and candidates have been invited to the Youth Caucus events as well.

The list of counties participating and their locations are below. Except where noted, registration begins at 4:30 and the Youth Caucus begins 5:30.

County Location
Allamakee Waukon High School
Boone Boone High School
Buchanan Independence High School
Buena Vista Storm Lake High School
Cass Atlantic Middle School
Clinton Central DeWitt High School
Dallas Adel-Desoto-Minburn High School
Fremont & Page Shenandoah High School
Guthrie Panorama High School
Johnson Johnson Co. HHS Building in Iowa City
Jones Kirkwood Community College (Oct. 23)
Keokuk Sigourney High School
Linn Cedar Rapids Washington High School
Marshall Marshalltown Community College
Polk Des Moines Hoover High School
Scott Scott County Library in Eldridge (Dec. 5)
Story Ames High School
Taylor Bedford Elementary School (registration at 5:30, starts at 6:30)
Union Creston High School
Warren Indianola High School
Winneshiek Decorah High School